Awards & Scholarships


You are here

Awards and Scholarships

The philosophy department is supported by several scholarships and awards directed specifically at philosophy majors and minors: The Ehlers Scholarship, the Ehler's Book Award, and the Center for Ethics and Public Policy Book Prize.

2016-2017 Philosophy Scholarship Winners

Poster: Philosophy Scholarship Winners

The Ehlers Prizes

The Ehlers Scholarship was established from gifts by family, friends and colleagues of the late Henry Ehlers, founder of the UMD Philosophy Department in 1947. This scholarship is for a full-time undergraduate philosophy student in good academic standing and based on potential, need and character. Recent Winners include: Nicole Anderson (2014), Daniel Norgard (2013), Alethea Tusher (2012), and Alex Estee (2011).

The Ehlers Book Award provides textbooks needed for philosophy courses taken by the recipients over the following year. Awards are made to continuing philosophy students based on their grades in philosophy courses.

Center For Ethics and Public Policy Book Prize

The Philosophy Department's Center for Ethics and Public Policy (CEPP) also recently established the Center for Ethics and Public Policy Book Prize, an essay contest which awarded $250 (in textbook reimbursement) to the winner. The competing essays all concerned a topic that is under the purview of the Center's mission -- ethics and/or public policy (e.g., proportional representation, animal rights, amnesty for illegal immigrants, euthanasia, energy policy, etc.).